Uncategorized

I am Reading (plus a bit about the new blog format)

About the format of the blog…I don’t really know.

Anyways, I am currently reading. A Lot. I think I’ve accumulated a lot of material to read through my life. Huh. I remember I hated reading back then when my mom made me read Harry Potter (I like the series now, but I was in grade two back then). I think it was when I started reading “A Series of Unfortunate Events” that I discovered a hidden passion for reading. I was certainly surprised how gripped I was in the plot. I could clearly form the story in my head as I read, meaning the book was like a free-style movie, freestyle in that I controlled how the setting and characters looked and sounded.

Back then, I only read two series; A series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket (yeah, sure Daniel, sure) and the Deltora series. I read plenty of stand alone books and R.L.Stein too, but these were the only series I followed with any passion. At the end of the Deltora books, there would be advertisements for other books published by Scholastic (a Canadian book publishing company). One of these was Guardians of Ga’Hoole. From there on vowed to finish these three epic series. I finally finished A Series of Unfortunate Events and Deltora (before and during middle school respectively) I have yet to read the final Ga’Hoole book. Why? Because my interest in books snowballed into a quest to finish over a thousand series and individual books.

I am currently attempting to finish the Discworld series by Sir Terry Pratchett. They are easy enough to find, except for The Last Hero, which isn’t a novel, but a large picture book. I’m frustrated at my inability to find this one for it is the final book in the main “Rincewind” plot, my favourite hero. (I’m Canadian, favourite is spelled this way)

I’ve just finished reading “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy. Great book. A masterpiece of Grim Survival fiction (and lets all hope it remains fiction!)

(huh, the image is upside down. weird)

 

Leave a Reply

