reading / writing

New Words

Whenever I read a new word that interests me I’m always eager to use it, even if that word has nothing to do with whatever I am working on at the time. Some days I start a whole new project just for the opportunity of using it. It’s a rather stupid habit with sometimes catastrophic results.

For example, right now I’m reading The Picture of Dorian Gray and I’ve just found this new word: Lionize. Forgive me if this comes across as odd; perhaps the word is a very popular one and I’m just a lucky sob who’s managed to evade it all my life until now. But the fact of the matter is my mind is now going through the “new word stages” of inspiration, inspiration that will no doubt lead to disappointment.

Stage 1: “Lionize? Man, that’s a bizarre word. Sounds noble and interesting.”

Stage 2″ “I might as well look up the meaning, otherwise I won’t understand this sentence. It may be important to the overall plot.”

Stage 3: “So that’s what it means. It’s so convenient/unnecessarily fancy/interesting.”

Stage 4: “I think I’ll make up a whole story in my head just to use that word in it!”

Stage 5 (optional): “Or maybe a whole series! I’ll call it, Lionizing the Patriotic Parrots! Why patriotic parrots? Because those are the words that came to my head at that moment! It’ll be strange to write a whole series of stories based on a fancy word and a title that seems like it developed out of a mad lib, but I’m sure I’ll make it work!”

Leave a Reply

