Poetry

Close to the Passing

So this is it I fear

So after all these years

One mark away from pass

One inch of bloodied grass

Four steps away from death

Four sets of horse’s steps

One day my fight began

One trigger in my hand

Two people staring down

Two brides in dressing gowns

One man will wed next year

One man, not me I fear

Four horsemen here for me

Four horsemen not for he

Good-bye to all my kin

Good and without sin

So to the gates I go

So is the life I sew

One thought on “Close to the Passing

Leave a Reply

