writing

Writing problems: description

Have I ever told you guys how much I hate having to describe things in fancy, blood curling ways? I mean, I’d love to have a simple writing style, but I also harness an urge to fancy the ever loving crap out of my writing with descriptions. No, I don’t use big, unnecessary words, but I do love emotions and sensations, and being very specific with images I’m hoping to invoke in my writing…and I am always too particular so I’m constantly rewriting sentences and moving around words…damn it!

This is all Clive Barker and Stephen King’s fault! Them and their descriptive prose and wondrous sentence structure (mostly Clive Barker, but King can do the same to a degree with simpler words, which I appreciate as it makes me feel less crappalicious about my own writing).

Leave a Reply

